Wong's Weblog

Catch Phrase Hilarity | August 19, 2008

So I discovered my new favorite board game.  By the title you might think it’s just Catch Phrase but then you would be wrong.  I love Catch Phrase don’t get me wrong but unless you’ve tried Catch Phrase with Chinese people, you’re missing out on a whole lot of fun.  You may say to yourself, but you’re Chinese and I would reply “yes, but I sound like a white guy…”  One of the things I haven’t mentioned is the wide and very diverse range of English accents we have here in Hong Kong.  You have the American accent, the Canadian accent, the English accent, the Australian accent, the New Zealand accent, Chinese accent (of course), the Singaporean accent and probably more that I have left out.  Well, firstly I would like to say that having all these accents are amazing.  It is the coolest thing hearing a chinese friend speaking English with an English accent.  I wish I could do that.  But, when you mix in this smorgasbord of accents into a game of Catch Phrase, man there may not be a funnier thing out there.  One instance, someone my UK accent Chinese friend threw out the hint, “what sounds does a dog make?” My American friend instantly yelled out “Quack!” thinking he said “what sound does a duck make?”  Another instance my Austrailian accent Chinese friend gave the clue, “not a ten…” (atleast thats I thought that’s he said) so my other friend and I yelled out “A nine!” We were wrong, the person was saying “not a tan…” And one of my favorites from the night went like this:

Friend: Ok its something you put on your foot… Eventually the team guesses Sock.  Then he’s says 2nd word, “it’s where you go to buy a book, or food, yada yada yada…” and they finally came up with the answer Market.  He passes the disc to me. I looked at the word and then I looked at him and said “dude, it says Stock Market not Sock Market.”


Posted in Funny

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment