Wong's Weblog

HK 2010 Day 1 | October 6, 2010

Well it is hard to believe that it has been over 2 years since I last visited the Hong Kong.  My good friends, Jacky and Cadence, whom God divinely placed in my life 2 years ago, invited me out for their wedding reception.  After finding an amazing deal for a flight out to HK, I had no choice but to take some time off to spend time out here 🙂

I took off last Tuesday (10/28) and made the long journey back to Asia.  This time around I decided to fly Cathay Pacific because I just remembered United being awful when I flew them last time across the Pacific.  Boy was this a good decision.  Cathay offered amazing onboard entertainment.  I was able to stare at this glorious screen for my 14.5 hour flight.  This beautiful screen gave me the ability to watch over 50 movies on demand, many which I haven’t had the chance to see yet.  United only offered a large screen that everyone watched and you were subjected to watch what they wanted you to see.

1st move up was Hot Tub Time Machine.  Don’t really know what to say about this movie.  I guess it was interesting and kind of funny.  Well what I really guess i’m trying to say is watch it if you’re really bored and having nothing else better to do with your time and money…

2nd movie up was A-team.  This movie was entertaining to say the least.  It had some funny parts I guess and it was a good for wasting an hour and half of a long flight.  There was nothing really memorable about it which is why I am pretty much rambling on about nothing at this point…

3rd movie up was Hurt Locker which is a movie that I have been wanting to see for quite some time. The Academy Award winning movie lived up to all of its accolades.  The acting was superb and the story was definitely intriguing. It gave a view point that I did not previously possess into the war in Iraq.  It was interesting to see how the soldiers have to deal with IEDs and the extreme dangers to go along with it.  I won’t go into the politics of the movie but I did want to discuss the ending. SPOILER ALERT ahead so don’t read about the ending if you don’t want to.  In the end, the main character decides to go back to the war after returning home to his wife and son.  Does he go back to the war because he no longer feels alive settling into the mundaneness of family life without the adrenaline of war time and deactivating IEDs or does he go back because he sees his family and believes that he needs to fight for their freedom and their safety?

4th movie up was She’s Out of My League.  I guess I needed a more light hearted movie after watching a very intense movie about war and life.  This nice guy finishes first movie gave me just that.  It was a fun hour and a half and I would give it 3.5 out of 5 stars. Probably worth while of a watch if you don’t have much else going on.

5th movie up was 500 days of Summer.  This is a movie that I previously watched that is quite good. Great music, followed with good acting and a good story.  Can’t really ask for more than that.  Also, Zooey Deschanel is on my play list for tunes on my ipod this trip so be sure to check out her band She and Him. Although this is a great movie, I did fall asleep because this was about 16 hours into my travel day and I was quite tired at this point.

I’m pretty sure I watched a 6th movie but I honestly don’t remember what it was.  I think at this point I only had a few more hours until I landed in Hong Kong.  I ended up landing in HK after about 24 hours of traveling (including layovers).  First thing I felt walking to the bus to take me home was the humidity.  Dang ma, it was like walking into a wall of water or sweat or something wet.  Buckets of sweat started rolling out of me.  90 degree weather with 85% humidity = not fun for me.  I will take 110 degree weather with 5% humidity in PHX any day.

As I traveled along in my hour long bus ride back to my Aunt and Uncle’s flat in Hung Hom, I started seeing and experiencing the feelings that I love most about HK.  Seeing my first high rise  on the hill set my heart aflutter.  It could have been just the sight of it or possibly that mixed with the fact that I was rocking out to Jamiroquai at the same time.  It was a beautiful sight.

As I neared the city and saw Central, excitement started to rise up in me.  Reality set in that I was back in one of my most favorite cities.  There’s no way to really explain it.  There is just a certain energy that the city gives off when you are here.  The lights, the sounds, the people, the fast pace, the high energy, all of it mixed together, it just brings about something within me that makes life exciting.

Anyways, I know i’ve been a bit late posting since I have been her for a week already but at lot has happened and I’ve got some stories to tell already including my foray into Hollywood. I look forward to writing down my experiences once again and thank you all for reading!


Posted in Hong Kong, Travel

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment