Wong's Weblog

Reunited and it feels so good… | October 7, 2010

One of the main reasons to come out to HK was to see my dear friends Jacky and Cadence who had just gotten married the week before.  I met the two of them 2 years ago in HK and spent 3 months with them in Beijing while I was attending Uni there to learn Mandarin.  So needless to say, I was very excited to see them after such a long time apart.  We decided to meet up for lunch and got to spend time catching up and seeing what had happened in the previous 2 years.  It was crazy that literally 2 years ago, the 3 or us were visiting the grasslands of Inner Mongolia.  Oh the good times of Inner Mongolia…

After lunch, I went with Jacky to run some errands and do some shopping.  We went to a really great store in SOGO that carried a lot of vintage items.  They had decent prices and their products were actually very cool.  An interesting thing about this store thought was the it was literally 6 feet by maybe 12 feet.  It was tiny but it worked.  Anyways, that afternoon was a good time to just hang out.

That night, I met up with another one of my friends, Kate. We went to Tequila Jacks which is one of the few places in HK to get Mexican food. I wrote about them 2 years ago and how they were not that good.  Long story short, things didn’t really change. I did get the fajitas this time which were okay at best.

I forgot to mention that Friday was also a Chinese national holiday so there was going to be a huge fireworks display in Victoria Harbor.  Tens if not hundreds of thousands of people were already sitting and waiting at the harbor to watch the big show that night.

We were planning to go to watch the fireworks after dinner but my friend Kate got a bit sick and was unable to make it that night.  I decided to have a go at it myself.

There were tons of people all over the streets of TST as the police had closed down most of the streets nearby.

I decided to get a better vantage point to see the fireworks. Right about that point I thought, maybe I should just leave, there are quite a few people down there and I might get caught. Stupidly, I chose the former and watched the last minute of the show.  Stupidly, I got caught in the hoard of thousands of people walking back to get a van or bus back home.  I ended up walking 5 miles home that night.  I ended up really tired.


Posted in Hong Kong

1 Comment »

  1. I like how diplomatically you wrote about me getting sick…No mention of passing out, hitting my head and having to go to the hospital.

    You walked home? YIKES!!

    Comment by katie — October 9, 2010 @ 4:26 am


Leave a comment